The History of Christianity Part II

It’s been a long time since my post of Part I and I apologize.  I still have a day job and I also like to take trips.  🙂  So much of this topic has been discussed in other blogs by people better qualified than me.  Having said this, I’m going to touch on OT and NT stories which tend to fly below the radar especially in Evangelical Blogs.

This particular story came up in a bible study I sponsored at my home about 8 years ago.  There were 6 well educated men from my church who would meet at my home at 6:00 AM once a week for this bible study.  On this particular morning we were studying King David and how he was a man after god’s own heart.  The bible study we used happened to list a series of scriptures detailing how god had to punish David for having an affair with a married woman, Bathsheba.  When I read this passage aloud to these 6 other men, a light bulb came on in my head .  I audibly shared my displeasure for this passage and stated, “No loving God could have commanded this”  Of course some of the other men in my home cautioned me about “questioning God and his ways”

As a preface to the passage I am about to quote, keep in mind according to Mosaic Law , Deuteronomy 22:22 “If a man is found sleeping with another man’s wife, both the man who slept with her and the woman must die.

However this is what happened in King David’s case.  God broke his own rule and decided to give King David a different punishment and not just one but multiple punishments for the same sin !

2 Samuel 12:7-18

New International Version (NIV)

7″ Then Nathan said to David, “You are the man! This is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: ‘I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul. I gave your master’s house to you, and your master’s wives into your arms. I gave you all Israel and Judah. And if all this had been too little, I would have given you even more. Why did you despise the word of the Lord by doing what is evil in his eyes? You struck down Uriah the Hittite with the sword and took his wife to be your own. You killed him with the sword of the Ammonites. 10 Now, therefore, the sword will never depart from your house, because you despised me and took the wife of Uriah the Hittite to be your own.’

11 “This is what the Lord says: ‘Out of your own household I am going to bring calamity on you. Before your very eyes I will take your wives and give them to one who is close to you, and he will sleep with your wives in broad daylight. 12 You did it in secret, but I will do this thing in broad daylight before all Israel.’”

13 Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”

Nathan replied, “The Lord has taken away your sin. You are not going to die. 14 But because by doing this you have shown utter contempt for[a] the Lord, the son born to you will die.”

15 After Nathan had gone home, the Lord struck the child that Uriah’s wife had borne to David, and he became ill. 16 David pleaded with God for the child. He fasted and spent the nights lying in sackcloth[b] on the ground. 17 The elders of his household stood beside him to get him up from the ground, but he refused, and he would not eat any food with them.

18 On the seventh day the child died.”

So the bible god didn’t follow his own law which would have been to kill King David AND Bathsheba, but instead killed their “love child” and had one of King David’s best friends have sex with his wives in public.

When I hear christian apologists tell us what a loving deity god is and that the evil which happens on earth is caused by man not their god, I ask them about this story.  You can only guess what their responses are.

Any thoughts ?

Categories: Uncategorized | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “The History of Christianity Part II

  1. I always question the love of a God who would take retribution on a child for the sin of their parents. It was promptly explained to me that the child was in heaven; no harm, no foul. The punishment was exacted on the parents causing them pain. That’s not what the scripture says, though, is it?

    There’s also the interesting theory that King David went to the rooftop to watch the ceremonial cleansing bathhouse – a voyeur – at a time when he knew that the women would be there bathing to intentionally get a peek. From that theory springs that Bathsheba actually had no part in any wrongdoing. She was doing her ceremonial thing, King David caught a peek, like what he saw and actually raped her; either by force or coercion. When you consider that there’s never any mention of punishing Bathsheba, it is certainly plausible (if any of this tale is actually true at all).

    Like

    • Thanks Ruth ! Interesting theory ! My question has always been, when god took someone close to David to have sex in public with David’s wives, what if these women were christian and didn’t want to have sex with this person. Wouldn’t this have forced additional sin and possibly additional pregnancies ?

      There is always a way for an apologist to explain this. 🙂

      Like

  2. I always liked the idea that David was a man after God’s own heart since God clearly still loved him (even after killing his kid and all). But as my husband would point out quite a bit, David was not a nice dude- the killing, the taking back of Saul’s daughter and then never giving her children, etc.

    Like

  3. Hi Alice,
    Thank you for your comments !

    Yes, David really was a scoundrel . Even from his youth, he was a thug. He forced people to pay him for protection, from himself and his thugs no less. And the other incidents you mentioned in addition to my own.

    I just hopped over to your blog and found this little kernel of truth,

    “I appreciate the way the speaker in the video below briefly says so many things that resonate with me and many other deconverted. I hope that those who think we never believed would watch and try to empathize with what the speaker went through in his quest for truth.

    This seems to be a theme with Christian bloggers . They try to tell me I never really was a Christian if I was able to deconvert. Hmmm

    Like

  4. Another nail in the aseity claim.

    I’m presently chatting with a Jew (Reform) who really thinks there’s some great messages in the OT. It was such an odd statement that i’ve just let it slide. I mean, much of the OT is ghastly, like this example.

    Like

  5. Thanks John for your comments. As we both are aware , most of the OT is composed of Jewish Folk Lore. Weren’t these stories told to frighten people and keep them in line ? There really aren’t many positive stories in the OT that would inspire me. 🙂

    Like

  6. If there is such a thing as objective morality then many parts of the bible look objectively evil to me.

    Thom Stark is a Christian who stands up and agrees that the bible has some heinous stuff in it. You can read his views here: http://thomstark.net/copan/stark_copan-review.pdf

    Stark believes that God purposely allowed those things in there as a lesson for us and that the bible is “an argument with itself”. He also believes God wants all Christians to stand up and speak against those parts of the bible that are wrong. I’m probably bastardizing his viewpoint but I think I’ve got the gist of it. While I don’t agree with Stark’s conclusions at least he has made a valiant attempt at being honest about the problems in the bible.

    Like

  7. You’re right , Howie. Sounds like Stark is attempting to be as honest as his religion allows him to be.
    🙂

    Like

  8. I am busy reading Joshua again, just for the hell of it…and hell is the operative word.
    Yahweh is a capricious SOB. He behaves in this fashion throughout the bible with David, Moses, Joshua, the lot of them.
    One minute he is never changing his mind, the next he’s done a 180.

    The whole thing is nuts. And it never improves no matter which bits i read or how many times I read it. How anyone could swallow this rubbish is beyond me completely.

    Like

  9. Great points Meestor Ark ! Have you noticed our friend “askme” over @ askthebigot has been absent from her own blog since Saturday night. Either she is enjoying a warm beach somewhere or she is fed up with us. 🙂

    Like

  10. Ah ! Thanks for the info !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Chasing the Muses

Where are we going today?

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Godless Cranium

Random musings of a godless heathen

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

The Consolation of Reading

A Book, Film, and Philosophy Blog in Search of Answers and Enjoyment

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

The Lonely Tribalist

Portland, Oregon | Est. 1993

Amusing Nonsense

Writings on Everything and Nothing

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Freedom Through Empowerment

Taking ownership of your life brings power to make needed changes. True freedom begins with reliance on God to guide this process and provide what you need.

Kids Without Religion

Raising kids as independent, logical thinkers.

Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

Random thoughts

Random musings about everything.

Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Nan's Notebook

Things I want to say about this, that, and the other thing.

Truth Is Elusive

Seeking clarity in the forest of life's big questions while the answers seem to enjoy hiding

