Off to visit my roots

The background picture I have posted today is of a cemetery behind the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Zetel, Germany.  Located close to the North Sea, this little village is where my grandfather (my Mother’s Father) was born and was baptized in this 500 year old Church.

I have visited there twice but now my oldest sibling , my only sister wanted me to take here while she is still able to travel.  We are leaving Central Illinois, USA this evening for Germany.  I have been doing some extensive research lately on our ancestry so that I would know what to look for once we arrived.  It’s funny how I take very little of what the “Church” tells us theologically and yet I will be looking at their old record books to see what they reveal about my grandfather and will accept them at “Face Value”.

I belong to ancestry.com and have noticed much of the information available on this site comes from a vast record keeping system owned by the Morman Church.  Other than Census Records and Death and Birth Records, much of what I find is from other church records as well.  How ironic that much of what the church says we doubt or disbelieve totally and yet we take some of what they write (church records) quite literally.

I will be posting our experiences here in a few days.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Off to visit my roots

  1. Have a great time!

    There is a decided difference between Church records and “Church History”.

    Like

  2. Have a great trip! Sounds like it could be a very enjoyable trip. Investigating roots can always be an awe-filled experience.

    Like

  3. Excellent. Travel safely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Chasing the Muses

Where are we going today?

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Godless Cranium

Random musings of a godless heathen

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

The Consolation of Reading

A Book, Film, and Philosophy Blog in Search of Answers and Enjoyment

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

The Lonely Tribalist

Est. 1066 A.D.

Amusing Nonsense

Writings on Everything and Nothing

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Freedom Through Empowerment

Taking ownership of your life brings power to make needed changes. True freedom begins with reliance on God to guide this process and provide what you need.

Random thoughts

Random musings about everything.

Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Nan's Notebook

Things I want to say about this, that, and the other thing.

Truth Is Elusive

Seeking clarity in the forest of life's big questions while the answers seem to enjoy hiding

Is there a God? (blog)

Reliable information for those asking life's big questions

