The Religion War

I have mentioned on my Blog and over at Nate’s Finding Truth, the book , “God’s Debris” .  I just finished the sequel , “The Religion War” this afternoon.  Here are 2 excerpts I would like to share that really hit home to me.

“Religious misinterpretations .  People who are infected with flawed religious ideas can infect others, especially their children.  The religions spread and mutate , until there are thousands of different religious ideas, most of them harmless, some healthy and helpful, but others quite deadly.  When the deadly ones reach a critical mass, they threaten the whole.”

“Most people are trained from childhood to favor their irrational impulses when it comes to the most important questions in life.  For example, you know how many religions there are in the world and therefore how unlikely it is for any one person, such as yourself, to have chosen the correct one.  Yet you choose to ignore the odds. ”

Each book can be read in a day.  I happen to think the sequel, “The Religion War” provides a plausible solution to the “War on Terror” .  I look forward to comments.

Categories: Uncategorized | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “The Religion War

  1. Excellent quotes, Ken. The second quote reminded me of this sort video.

    Like

    • Great video, Victoria ! Thanks for sharing ! I hope you are enjoying peaceful holidays. I very much enjoyed staying home all day today and doing absolutely nothing ! 🙂 I don’t get his opportunity often.

      Like

  2. Yesterday I smoked a turkey in my smoker and had my 2 daughters and their families over for the traditional dinner. It is always nice to be with my family but a whole day to myself was also nice. 🙂

    Like

    • I can imagine. For the first time in my life, I get to have alone time. That was always a luxury before. I’m glad you got to spend time with your daughters. Yesterday, I spent time with my daughter, sister, brother-in-law, my daughters boyfriend, and my two nephews. After we stuffed ourselves, and played this card game called “Cards Against Humanity”. It was hilarious. While I enjoy spending time with family, I especially enjoy doing my own thing. Let’s see — 20 percent spent with family and friends and 80% spent doing my own thing. That’s what I’m talking about. *grins*

      What do you do that keeps you so busy that you have very little downtime?

      Like

  3. Correction: I meant to write “we played” not “and played”.

    Like

  4. No worries. I am still involved with a company I own although my 2 sons-in-law are taking more of the leadership roles. There is still a certain amount of travel that I do for this. There is always something to do around my 10 acre homestead as well . Not complaining, just expressing how I enjoy down time too !

    Like

  5. I haven’t read Wars yet, but I will.

    Did you see Colorstorm has asked you a series of inane questions? He’s an odd one…

    Like

    • We had an exchange and then he thanked me for trying. It didn’t last very long. Hmmmm

      Like

      • I read it. He’s a frightfully strange man. That type of weirdness and detachment from reality is a tad scary.

        Like

        • Unfortunately, while the numbers may be diminishing, their presence, their influence is having a huge impact. They now have control of the both Houses of Congress. Salon writes:

          “There’s a demographic paradox going on in the world. While overall religiosity is decreasing and atheism and agnosticism are increasing, religious fundamentalism has also been increasing and become more politically influential than ever before.”

          I have never, in all my life seen so much extremism among the religious right as I’m seeing now. Everything they touch becomes dysfunctional. Colorstorm in his dopamine stupor and big, fat amygdala will be among those who work tirelessly to make damn sure they control everything::

          ” Once these ‘deviants’ are removed, other ‘deviants,’ including Muslims, liberals, feminists, intellectuals, left-wing activists, undocumented workers, poor African-Americans and those dismissed as ‘nominal Christians’—meaning Christians who do not embrace this peculiar interpretation of the Bible—will also be ruthlessly repressed.

          The ‘deviant’ government bureaucrats, the ‘deviant’ media, the ‘deviant’ schools and the ‘deviant’ churches, all agents of Satan, will be crushed or radically reformed. The rights of these ‘deviants’ will be annulled. ‘Christian values’ and ‘family values’ will, in the new state, be propagated by all institutions. Education and social welfare will be handed over to the church. Facts and self-criticism will be replaced with relentless indoctrination.

          While the Christian Right is becoming the dwindling minority, it remains an existential threat to civil rights, secularism and our democratic values.”

          http://www.salon.com/2014/02/28/the_dying_right_why_christian_fundamentalists_are_in_panic_mode_partner/

          I’m living in the thick of it — Colorstorms and Insanities, Tiribulus every freakingwhere.

          Like

          • I feel for you, Victoria. I’ve always liked that meme which reads something like, “Atheism is like being the only sober person in a car full of drunks… who won’t let you drive.”

            I have confidence, though. The extreme silliness we’re seeing is having a profoundly negative effect. Sure, the tempo and noise rises, but that’s just a sign of the nonsense burning itself out even faster.

            Liked by 1 person

      • Yes Victoria, you are living in the wrong part of the U.S.A. at the wrong time. 😦

        I am a Fiscal Conservative but this is where the C Word ends for me. 🙂

        Like

        • Ken & John, I used to be bi-partisan (before the beady eye GWB). I was more of a centrist. I voted for the person not the party. But there is no way in hell I’d vote conservative now. They are a seedy lot. They’ve infiltrated our military, or hospitals, our pharmacies, corporations and our Supreme Court.

          ” According to this multivariate analysis which takes into account a plethora of indicators of societal well-being, those states in America with the worst quality of life tend to be among the most God-loving/most religious (such as Mississippi and Alabama), while those states with the best quality of life tend to among the least God-loving/least religious (such as Vermont and New Hampshire).”

          http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-secular-life/201410/secular-societies-fare-better-religious-societies

          Like

    • John, even scarier , there are millions like him .

      Like

      • Thankfully, the experience in the US is not the same in the rest of advanced world, but we can all take hope in the admission made by the evangelical, John S. Dickerson, who notes in his book, The Great Evangelical Recession (p. 26), “260,000 evangelical young people walk away from Christianity each year.”

        Those are unsustainable numbers.

        Like

  6. I’ll go check out what Colorstorm has to say. Thanks John !

    Like

  7. You are so very welcome John

    Like

  8. I have been asked if there is a free pdf download for The Religion War like there was for God’s Debris.

    Presto ! http://www.mediafire.com/download/zaztjmowzkz/Scott_Adams_-_The_Religion_War.pdf

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Chasing the Muses

Where are we going today?

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Godless Cranium

Random musings of a godless heathen

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

The Consolation of Reading

A Book, Film, and Philosophy Blog in Search of Answers and Enjoyment

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

The Lonely Tribalist

Portland, Oregon | Est. 1993

Amusing Nonsense

Writings on Everything and Nothing

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Freedom Through Empowerment

Taking ownership of your life brings power to make needed changes. True freedom begins with reliance on God to guide this process and provide what you need.

Kids Without Religion

Raising kids as independent, logical thinkers.

Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

Random thoughts

Random musings about everything.

Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Nan's Notebook

Things I want to say about this, that, and the other thing.

Truth Is Elusive

Seeking clarity in the forest of life's big questions while the answers seem to enjoy hiding

