A Tribute

I buried my 97 year old Mother today.  400 people packed into the small Church she attended for the visitation and service.

Over at Nate’s Blog, much has been discussed about the negative aspects of religion.  I tend to agree with many of the comments over there.  As with most things, there are exceptions to every rule.

My Mother lived her faith.  She showed love to every one she met.  She walked her talk. Judging others was not part of her character.  People in her small farming community feel she set the bar for how to treat your fellow man.

Was today’s service about religion ?  Not really.  It was about a person who sensibly took the good parts of her religion and lived them to the best of her ability. .  What they did see was how a person with deep religious convictions could live an exemplary  life that people from any faith or no faith at all could aspire to.

You will be sorely missed Mom.  I love you !

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “A Tribute

  1. Sorry for your loss.

    And I’m glad to hear that they made the service about your mom, not so much the religion.

    Like

  2. Charity

    I’m sorry about you losing your mother. I know you really loved her. You always spoke highly of her. I have no clue as to the kind of heartache you’re experiencing. I will tell you that you are well respected. We all want the best for you. You are in my thoughts. Sympathy, love and peace to you and all who knew her. I’m so sorry that such a sweet, tenderhearted human is no longer with us. We are aching for more like her on this earth.

    Like

  3. My deepest condolences, Ken. Thank you for sharing such a personal post with us. It was a beautiful tribute to a beautiful human being.

    *hug*

    Like

  4. I am very sorry for your loss.

    Like

  5. Hey Ken. What a beautiful tribute. Sounds like she was a wonderful woman. Her traits are passed on and lived through you.

    Like

  6. Ken,

    I’m betting it was a lovely service and a wonderful tribute to the great person your mother was. It’s good that she got so many years to be an excellent mentor. It sounds like she will be greatly missed.

    Like

  7. Brother Ken. I’m so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and best wishes are with you and your family. -kia

    Like

  8. Thanks KIA !

    Like

  9. Ken, I’m sorry to hear this. 97, quite an innings, and from what you’ve written here, she sounds like a true champion.

    Like

  10. Thank you John !

    Like

  11. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Like

  12. My condolences to you on the sad loss of your dear mom. She sounds to have been a lot like my mom who dies at 90 last September. My mom also lived her faith and was not judgemental of anyone. We are both so privileged to have had such exemplary women as our mothers. Hugs to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Chasing the Muses

Where are we going today?

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Godless Cranium

Random musings of a godless heathen

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

The Consolation of Reading

A Book, Film, and Philosophy Blog in Search of Answers and Enjoyment

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

The Lonely Tribalist

Portland, Oregon | Est. 1993

Amusing Nonsense

Writings on Everything and Nothing

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Freedom Through Empowerment

Taking ownership of your life brings power to make needed changes. True freedom begins with reliance on God to guide this process and provide what you need.

Kids Without Religion

Raising kids as independent, logical thinkers.

Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

Random thoughts

Random musings about everything.

Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Nan's Notebook

Things I want to say about this, that, and the other thing.

Truth Is Elusive

Seeking clarity in the forest of life's big questions while the answers seem to enjoy hiding

